Sunday, April 26, 2009

Hit the road with $900

My $900 government stimulus package handout arrived in my bank account two weeks ago (danke Kevin). I spent the first week just dithering about how to actually spend it. That's what they want to do with it right? Call me a sicko but I'm more of a "saver" by nature. I know that might seem hard to believe in this consumerist age but that's what happens when you're brought up poor, fed rabbit and told it's chicken ("but that's not shaped like a chicken drumstick"..."Just eat it" OK I guess we'll just call it chabbit, gulp)... that, and becoming a vegetarian, but that's another story. (It might also explain my recent interest in le lapin).


I am "chabbit" hear me roar!

So yeah I've always been one for keeping an emergency fund - my "get out of town" money as I like to think of it. Not much, just enough. Enough for a bag, a plane ticket, and a few days in either a hotel or hospital, depending on how the cards fell. Beyond that there was also that pipe dream of owning my own house, or should I say, owning my own house deposit, followed by owning my own mortgage. Dreams just Dreams. Or hideous bourgeois nightmare (depending on the mood)? The world economic crisis has eased the pressure to conform to the middle age middle class dream. Did someone mention falling house prices? Myth or just music to my ears?
Well if we do all end up on the road, less cruisey-Kerouac-style, more ashen-morning-Cormac McCarthy-style then I guess none of us will be talking mortgages - instead it'll be all "have you seen my latest trolley mods?" and urban defense. If we have trolley motor shows you'll find me in the "shabby-jap-chic" division - inspired by Lone wolf and cub. I know, I know, I won't be jesting when the apocalypse comes... or will I? Speaking of McCarthy's The Road it seems they just keep pushing the film's release date further and further back. Just now I read a rumour that it'll be straight to DVD. Does anyone know if when it's actually going to be released? Brace yourself America.


Lone Wolf & Cub
The Road



But in the meantime the government is doling out money - which we all seem to be happy to take with one hand while pushing the hair out of our eyes with the other and those nervous "don't hospitals need money?" thoughts to the back of our minds (a bit like eating chabbit). Finally tiring of playing the "Do I still have an extra $900 in my bank account?" game, that involved hourly online bank account analysis I decided to part with the cash, which was not "hard-earned" by me and thus easier to blow, and have bought a new digital camera, finally filling the absent camera hole left in my life by Anon Thief of Scum who stole all three cameras from the household a few months ago.

Several hundred dollars remain from Kevin's spending stimuli...but not for long I'm sure. Have already committed some to organic chocolate and packets of garden seeds. My Ebay vintage clothing watch list is also several viewing hours long.

After my friendly librarian revealed today she had blown her $900 largely on DVD box sets of television shows from the 80s (the confession arose as she demagnetized the Degrassi DVD I was borrowing during check out) this left me wondering about the rest of you: What did you spend your economic stimulus package handout on?

No comments:

Post a Comment